Find us on  | Facebook | Twitter |
What is ACT-SO
NJ State Chairperson
A Plea to Leaders
NJ National Winners
Famous Alumni
Competition Volunteer
ACT-SO is a program sponsored by the NAACP



Print this Page

All Time New Jersey National ACT-SO Award Recipients

More than 3,000 area high school students have participated in the NJ ACT-SO workshops that culminate in an annual statewide competition. New Jersey ACT-SO has proud stories of students who dare to dream, to achieve, to strive for excellence in their lives.

The following students are recipients of national medals at the national competitions held around the country. New Jersey has proud stories!

2015 (Philadelphia)
James Morris, Music Composition & Music Instrumental Classical
Isaiah Devereaux, Mathematics

2014 (Las Vegas, NV)
Demetrius Beckham, Medicine & Health
Hannah Sawyer, Poetry
Abiola C. Oladele, Sculpture
Taquan Allen, Filmmaking
Pearis Bellamy, Biology
Chental Bembry, Entrepreneurship
Isaiah Devereaux, Mathematics

2013 (Orlando,FL.)
Al Nisa Murray, Medicine & Health
Madrid Smith, Oratory
Michael Spearman, Music Composition
Aaron Savage, Original Essay
Maya Moten, Physics

2012 (Houston, TX)
Arnetta Johnson, Music Instrumental Contemporary & Music Composition
Adele Taylor, Entrepreneurship
Janelle Wellons, Original Essay
Briana Williams, Oratory
Kierra McCall , Oratory
Sharon Johnson, Poetry
Jackie Barnes, Architecture

2011 (Los Angeles)
Mary Clare Sobon, Music Vocal Contemporary
Sara Meretab, Mathematics
Shemamphorash Andre, Filmmaking

2010 (Kansas)
Jalyssa James, Music Vocal Contemporary
Alicia Oliver, Photography
Takir Anderson, Architecture
Adele Taylor, Entrepreneurship

2009 (New York, NY)
Tochi Nworu, Playwriting
Alexander Cummings, Music Composition and Music Instrumental Contemporary
Silver Matthew, Painting
Yasmin DeJesus, Drawing
Nadiya Cooper, Mathematics
Jennifer Lantigua, Sculpture

2008 (Orlando, Florida)
Gisella Gutierreoz, Photography

2007 (Detroit, MI)
Edwin Coleman, Poetry
Charlene Boone, Music Composition
Jemina Akinsanya, Physics
Xavier Bennett, Playwriting

2006 (Washington, DC)
Naomi Adjei, Mathematics
Joseph Momoh, Architecture

2005 (Milwaukee, WI)
Asha Martin, Mathematics
Zebia Weh, Physics 
Kevin Beckford, Original Essay

2004 (Philadelphia, PA)
Eric Hudson, Music Instrumental Contemporary
Carla Bruce, Original Essay
Erica Barrow, Mathematics
Evanda Henry, Chemistry
Brooke Pennix, Oratory

2003 (Miami, FL)
Stefani Ramos, Photography
Darnell Jones Bey, Filmmaking
Naomi Daniels, Vocal Contemporary 
Carla Nesbitt, Instrumental Contemporary

2002 (Houston, TX)
Dontae Simmons, Filmmaking
Shandy Walton, Poetry
Collete Jackson-Belle, Vocal Classical
Irwin Hall Jr., Instrumental Contemporary
Ashley Jackson, Instrumental Classical

2001 (New Orleans, LA)
Valerie Louissant, Mathematics

2000 (Baltimore, MD)
Kern Bruce,art, Mathematics
Aleshia Brown, Physics
Melony Williams, Photography

1999 (New York)
Sheri Williams, Computer Science
Lawrence Smith, Poetry

1998 (Atlanta, GA)
Martin Dickerson, Architecture

1997 (Pittsburgh, PA)
Maria Norales, Playwriting
Eisa Jackson, Dance

1996 (Charlotte, NC)
Nia Jeter, Computer Science, Mathematics
Jaime Hardges, Drama
Chantelle Brathwaite, Physics

1995 (Minnesota, MN)
Darnell Williams, Physics
Yasmeen Yasin, Playwriting
Christina Taylor, Original Essay
Thaddeus Pinckney, Chemistry

1994 (Chicago, IL)
Tye Husbands, Oratory
Josina Lawrence, Filmmaking
Cornell Fields, Music Composition

1993 (Indianapolis, IN)
Wendy Dunlap, Playwriting
Nicole Tucker, Architecture
Tyshawn Hawkins, Computer Science 
Coltrane Curtis, Photography

Tyshawn Hawkins, Computer Science
Coltrane Curtis, Photography
Scott Rudrow, Physics
Aliya Carmichael, Poetry

Nashad Warfield, Oratory

Home About Categories Competition Volunteer Contact
What is ACT-SO
Benefits of ACT-SO
Meet the NJ Chairperson
A Plea to Leaders
NJ National Winners
Famous ACT-SO Alumni
Performing Arts
Visual Arts
Apply Online
Downloadable Forms
Room Facilitator
Door Monitor
General Volunteer
Contact Form
Join Our Email List
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Submit an Online Application